Christians Are Like Lesbians

Hold on. Don’t throw stones at me yet. I have a story.

Friday night I was drinking coffee and working on my computer at the Wired Café on Main Street in Bethlehem, when a couple of young ladies walked by with their desserts, sat down at the next table and, well, kissed.

I almost choked on my coffee. Totally caught me off guard. And in my head I repeated what my mom said when we encountered handicapped people or Amish families or fresh-off-the-boat immigrants: “Don’t stare!” But it was hard. And soon I found myself listening in on their conversation and watching their interactions and, well, affections.

There was a day when no one knew what a Christian was. We were the freak show, like the guy covered in tattoos. And parents told their kids, “Don’t stare!” Athenagoras records in roughly 180, “Three things are alleged against us: atheism, Thyestean feasts [cannibalism], Oedipodean intercourse [incest].” They didn’t get us—we greeted with kisses, we were thought to host orgies, we believed “foreign superstitions.”

Today, as we again find ourselves on the fringe, members of a quirky clan, it’s imperative that our packaging match our message. To them, we are the Pope and the scandals and the protesters and the TV preachers and the cheesy Christian bumper stickers. But when they overlook their “Don’t stare!” upbringing to spy on us, does the Christ-message seep through?

~ by shad on February 23, 2009.

2 Responses to “Christians Are Like Lesbians”

  1. Shad,
    Got your blog from Blog Guild (where my blog is also posted – Through Eyes of Faith). It’s been a long time since the the college days of PCC.
    I enjoyed your blog. Definitely a eye catching title. An I must agree. Christians today are on the cultural fringe. We find ourselves labeled with those who would profess the very same name but have fallen to public scandal and ridicule.
    Your question rings true. We must be vigilant and be “about our Father’s business” so that when they stare, “the Christ-message seep[s] through.
    God bless and keep up the good work.

  2. Interesting post. I’ll go no further…

Leave a Reply

 
