Bad Hood

Walking to the Dunkin’ Donuts tonight, I noticed that someone had spray-painted “EVIL WARRIOR” on a wall in three-foot letters. I don’t usually walk that way, so I was a little startled. Until I got here to the Dunkin’ Donuts and overheard a nursing home worker telling the cashier something worse.

Evidently, one of her co-workers discovered a bunch of guys sleeping in one of their rooms last night. They had broken a window and had been occupying the room for some time. She’s understandably afraid to go back to work tonight.

Responding to people using laundry machines as toilets, my laudromat’s janitor summed it up, “You wonder why I don’t want to live in this neighborhood no more.” I sure don’t wonder.

~ by shad on March 11, 2009.

3 Responses to “Bad Hood”

  1. That is pretty intense. I see a lot of stuff like that going on in Allentown as well. It makes me wonder how can we help these ailing communities become decent and even thriving areas where people want to live?

  2. Oh hey, I drove by the “EVIL WARRIOR” wall today, and to be more accurate, the letters are probably only two feet high. But they’d left their tag on a second wall nearby as well.

  3. wow. . .God bless. You will be in my prayers.

Leave a comment