Kids and Kites

Nicer weather has energized my neighborhood’s children. A few doors down, they play-fight. Two go at it while others shout from a porch and take their turns. At other times, they throw or kick balls around the cars. Some of them skateboard. Today, as I prepared for my run, my attention was drawn to a new activity.

The little girl across the street ran up and down the sidewalk with a homemade kite. Running back and forth, she tried to get her little invention airborn. It looked well-crafted. Fishing line for string. Streamer for a tail. But the houses blocked the wind. The tree caught her line. Still she persisted.

There’s something invigorating about the coming of spring. Like my neighbor girl, I am encouraged to press on, anxiously anticipating the result.

~ by shad on March 25, 2009.

2 Responses to “Kids and Kites”

  1. I used to love flying kites as a kid. I think I should make my own kite and try to fly it. That would rock!

  2. Hi Shad! Hope all’s well and you’re not dying trying to keep everything running forward.

    Just FYI, I now have a wordpress blog also. If you want to stop by, my URL is http://seaneasley.wordpress.com/.

    Miss ya, man.

    Sean

Leave a comment